Test Check Box

About the National Standards for Disability Services

Around Australia, many people with disability use a range of different services.

This might be for:

·                     support with daily life

·                     getting a job, or working somewhere,  like in supported employment  or other workplace

·                     working with an advocate.

An advocate is someone who can help you understand and speak up about a problem or other issue.

We want to make sure that people with disability get good services.

So, we use a set of rules that explain how you should be treated when you use disability services.

These rules are called the Standards.

This document explains what the Standards are, and what they mean for you. 

We have recently written a new version of the Standards. The last version was written in 1993.

All the governments in Australia worked together to write these new Standards.

We also talked to lots of different people to find out what they think should be included in the new Standards. 

We talked to:

·                     people with disabilities, their families and carers

·                     advocates

·                     other people who work with people with disability.

We've included many of their ideas in the new Standards.

The new Standards are also based on some other important ideas, such as:

·                 You should be allowed to take part in all of the decisions about your life.

·                 You should receive good quality services.

·                 You have the right to be treated fairly, just like everyone else.

And they are based on the ideas in these 2 important documents: 

·                 The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disability

This is an agreement about how people with disability should be treated. It is used in many different countries around the world.

·                 The National Disability Strategy
This is a document that explains how all the different governments in Australia are working together to support people with disability.



What are the Standards?

There are 6 Standards. We explain them briefly here, and then we go into more detail on the following pages.

Standard 1: Rights

You have the right to be treated fairly when you use disability services.

Standard 2: Participation and Inclusion

You can take part in the community and feel included when you use disability services.

Standard 3: Individual Outcomes

Your service supports you to make choices about what you want to do. You can work toward your goals.

Standard 4: Feedback and Complaints

You can tell people what you think about the services you receive.

Standard 5: Service Access

Finding and using services is fair. You can access the services you need. 

Standard 6: Service Management

Disability services should be managed well.


New National Standards for Disability Services